I Like To Think

I like to think that time will pass

And we will live and then alas

Our road will ever onward last

Before the sun goes dark

I like to think that birds will sing

For centuries of wind and wing

Caretakers of a joyous thing

Before they close the park

I like to think that all is love

That God looks down from up above

That our souls fit us like a glove

Before the final spark

I like to think that I am me

And she is she and he is he

But often question what are we

Before we make our mark

I like to think that words deceive

I say them so you will not leave

The thoughts inside my head shall grieve

Before they can embark

I like to think thoughts down in ink

To send them swerving to the brink

And then I cannot help but shrink

Before the question mark

Leave a Reply

